10 Things You Need To Know About The Ketogenic Diet

8. Types of ketogenic diets

Ketogenic diets are divided into three basic types determined by their ratio of fats to proteins and the caloric needs of the user. You may see a ratio of 4:1 (4 to 1) or 2:1 (2 to 1) where the first number refers to the total fat compared to the total protein and carbohydrate combined in each meal.

Standard Ketogenic Diet (SKD)

The SHD is tailored for those individuals who lead a sedentary lifestyle. Carbohydrate intake is limited to 20-50 grams of carbs. Most fruits or starchy vegetables are restricted. In order for any of the keto diet plans to be effective, they must be strictly followed. SKD uses oils, butter, vegetable oil and cream to replace many carbs in the diet.

Targeted Ketogenic Diet (TKD)

The TKD is less strict than the SKD and allows slightly more carbs though only in strict portions or amounts that will not prevent ketosis. The TKD diet is designed for those who are moderately active.

Cyclical Ketogenic Diet (CKD)

The CKD is designed for a more active lifestyle, those who weight train or perform intense exercise. CKD is NOT for beginners and requires strong will power as it requires five days of SKD followed by two days of carbohydrate loading. To be successful, the CKD dieter must follow the 5 days on 2 days off regimen and have the commitment to return to 5 more days of SKD after 2 days of carbs.

Each of these diets is intended for a specific activity and experience level.

Types Of Ketogenic Diets

Image Source – perfectketo

Want to use our images on your site? Right click on image for embed code

[mailerlite_form form_id=1]

Simply copy and paste the code below to embed the image on your page